April 15, 2013

  • It just didn’t fit in my hand

    So Roger is going to keep my Beretta for himself.  Today I went out and bought a Glock 19.  I used one during my range training and hit the target with much more accuracy.  I will probably join a sportsman’s club so I can have access to a range.  I think I want to go at least once a week.  Once I build my confidence, I might get into competitive shooting – they have them for all levels.  I’m definitely at the beginner level!  My goal is to become so confident and competent that it will be very easy to defend myself if it ever becomes necessary to use lethal force.  (And to think three months ago I was a total pacifist and couldn’t even touch a gun without my stomach clenching.)

Comments (8)

  • Can’t tell you how many guns Dave has traded away after they just didn’t fit as well as he first thought.  He just got rid of one 2 weeks ago so I’m glad that Roger could take over possession of yours and you move onto one that does fit.  Marilyn

  • What caused the change? Nothing too traumatic I hope.

  • Hard to try before you buy sadly – given each one is a pretty big chunk of change, but has to be done to be comfortable with it.

  • @maggie70 - Yeah, Roger liked it, so he is going to keep it.  Not sure what he’s going to do with his Ruger LC9

  • @Inciteful - Change in my attitude about guns or change in fit?  Nothing changed with the fit.  The Glock just worked better for me.  As for attitude, the older I get the more vulnerable I feel, so I felt like I needed to get trained and learn how to use a gun so I’m comfortable with it.  I also travel alone quite a bit because of work.

  • @the_tramp - Yeah – I wish they didn’t cost so much.  Now I’m thinking I should keep the Glock 19 for home protection and get a smaller .380 as a concealed carry.

  • I own and used to carry a Gloc 19, but its really too big for practical concealed carry, so I now carry a Diamondback DB-9, which is a 6+1 9mm weapon and is great for carrying. It’s so small that it has a smaller profile underneath my shirt than my cellphone, but since its only got a six round magazine, I usually carry a spare.

    Then again, if I have to reload, something’s really wrong.

  • @SlickRick297 - Although I got my license, I’m still not carrying.  I want more training first.  I may switch to something smaller for concealed carry.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *