March 12, 2013

  • Need vegan shopping ideas!

    I’ve decided I can’t have any dairy at all.  Even a small amount of butter will cause me gastric distress.  I thought yogurt was okay because of the live cultures and finally decided that it wasn’t because of all the gastric distress (that I put off to other things).  I *LOVE* all things dairy and now even yogurt is off the table, and that was my ‘healthy snack’ – I would eat a 4 ounce greek yogurt instead of a couple of cookies.

    One thing I can NOT get used to, though, are vinegar/oil based salad dressings.  I started using ranch when Hidden Valley first came out with it in packets (where you added your own buttermilk) and before that, I always used bleu cheese dressing.  Needless to say, I like the creamy dressings.
     
    I went to the ‘fake cheese’ section of our grocery store but they didn’t have any dairy-free ‘creamy’ dressings.  I would love a fake dressing that either tastes like ranch or bleu cheese (actually, I’d like to own a bottle of each!)
     
    One of my favorite salads is the California Cobb salad. (Egg, Avocado, Tomato, Chicken, Onion, Bacon, Bleu cheese added to lettuce).  I now order it without the bleu cheese.  I used to always have it with bleu cheese dressing, but that is now out.  I brought home some from a restaurant and tried it with balsamic vinaigrette and just didn’t like it.  Too vinegary.  (I think that is my problem with vinegar/oil based dressings)
     
    So all of you vegans out there (I know there are a few of you) – do you have any suggestions of WHERE to shop for a vegan creamy ranch or bleu cheese flavored dressing?  I was thinking Whole Foods, but aren’t they more into bulk whole foods than they are into vegan/vegetarianism?  Is there a regular (like whole foods) grocery store chain that caters to vegans?  I feel like the only way I can be sure what I buy is truly dairy free is if I buy vegan.

Comments (8)

  • Whole foods sell normal grocery store size items not bulk.  I love basalmic/olive oil dressings so I can’t help ya with this problem..marilyn

  • Sorry can’t help you here!

  • Whole Foods would be my suggestion too.  As maggie said, they are just like a normal grocery store … but more specialized (and more expensive!) 

  • Compard to salt, sugar and fat, dairy should be easy to avoid. But then, I don’t like dairy to begin with.

  • @AmyinVA - @maggie70 - I have a friend who works at a Whole Foods that’s about 40 miles from me (the closest one!)  I may go there Friday and see what they have.

  • @Inciteful - I love dairy!  It’s my favorite food (my weakness extra sharp New York cheddar). But my body started protesting about 10 years ago and it gradually got worse and worse.

  • You can buy soy & coconut milk yogurt. If you buy the plain you can make your own dressings. Probably be a lot easier. 

  • @tracy - Thanks!  I’ll have to look for those!  Many lactose-intolerant people can handle yogurt, but I can’t.  It sucks, too, because that was my ‘go-to’ snack.  Much healthier than cookies, candy, chips, etc.  If it’s available in soy or coconut or even almond milk yogurt, I’ll be buying it! 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *