February 18, 2013

  • 5.9!!!

    My A1c!!  Best EVER!

    Just got back from my endocrinologist's office.  My A1c is 5.9!!!  That is the lowest it's been since diagnosis!  I was worried it might have gone up because I have been indulging in things I haven't eaten since diagnosis (like strawberry-covered Belgian waffles - but with sugar free syrup and no whipped cream).  Still not like I did before I was diabetic.  But, for instance, before there was no way I could eat oatmeal with diced peaches and two slices of toast for breakfast without my glucose going sky high.  2 hours after eating it was 82.  Just like a normal person!

     
    I am so psyched!  My doctor also lowered my night-time insulin dosage by 5 more units.  My night-time (long-lasting) insulin has gone from 115 units to 25 units   I've been off pre-meal insulin for about a year.
     
    And I was down another 15 pounds from my last visit with him.
     
    The only down side is that my thyroid tests came back showing that I have Hashimoto's disease, but even THAT is under control!  My thyroid size has gone back down to normal and my TS3 and TSH levels were normal.  He canceled the biopsy order and replaced it with an ultrasound order, that I will be getting tomorrow morning.
     
    He thinks that as I lose weight, he will be able to gradually get me off the insulin.
     
     

Comments (8)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment