May 19, 2013

  • 40-year Grudge? Seriously?

    O. M. G.

    I am on a committee that is putting together what we are calling the “Reunion of the Decade” for people who attended our high school in the 70s.  There are lots of threads in the group on Facebook  and I follow it very closely.  One guy, whom I really don’t know (although I do know his two older sisters – one was a class before mine and one was the class after mine), asked me if my husband was the same Roger who lived next door to “Carters”.  He said that when he was 12 and Roger was 16, Roger sucker-punched him.  And he is still so pissed off about it he was posting tons of venom!  I couldn’t believe it!

    Here are some of the posts:

    Bill:  is your husband the same roger Johnson who lived next to the carters??? if so, tell him i still owe him a sucker punch to the gut!! like he did me when i was 12 and he was 16!! can’t wait to see em!!! is your husband the same roger Johnson who lived next to the carters??? if so, tell him i still owe him a sucker punch to the gut!! like he did me when i was 12 and he was 16!! can’t wait to see em

    Bill: i’m kidding… the past is the past….ha!! i’m just being silly!!! he did do this thou….

    Me: Bill must be a different one. His neighbors weren’t named Carter. Did you live on E___ Rd by any chance?

    Bill: YES I DID… SANDY IS MY SISTER…oop’s..caps haha!!

    Bill: did he live by w____ lake??

    Me: Did you run around with Denny, Roger’s older brother?

    Bill: i say this because your husband looks like what he would look like now & no i did not hang with Denny,but i know of him.

    Me: They lined next door to C____. You might be thinking of Ronnie. I think Roger is younger than you.

    Bill: c_____!!! ok…YES… Ronnie was an asshole…sorry i don’t like the guy!!

    Bill: roger was mona’s age…

    Bill: he’s the same guy…no doubt….

    Bill: i’m 53 now.

    Bill: i’m cool…like i said…”the past is the past”. i just want to confirm …why he did it…that’s all… i ran into randy H years ago at pine knob…..and put the fear into him….(i was in my 20′s & looking to get even..i said he was an asshole & forgave him….today….who cares……it’s over. i just want answers to …WHY??)

    Me: He said he doesn’t remember. We were both class of 74. I think Sandy was a year older and Ramona a year younger.

    Me: He said it sounded mmore like something Randy H would do.

    Bill: and ronnie….they put him up to it!! i know…they were around the courner….watching!! yes….i have him to thank for me watching out for people who can’t protect them selfs….i will step in….

    Me: Ronnie would have been 15 years older than you. Roger thought you were the one that his older brother Denny hung out with. Denny would have been class of 69, Ronnie was a couple years older than Denny.

    Bill: that was Robbie who is 60 mow….Ronnie is Robbie’s age…6 yrs older than me. i see your husband play’s guitar’s….teach me fool!!

    Bill: btw…i’m left handed!!

    Me: Oh, you must be talking about Ronnie C, not Roger’s brother

    Bill: was my posts that messed up….ronnie c no!!…not denny  no!!…..i’m talking about YOUR HUSBAND” ROGER!!! Damn…now i’m getting pissed again!!! f73K the others… your husband “hit ” me!! IT’S HIM THAT I WANT ANSWERS FROM!!! HIM!!!

    Bill: sorry…stop protecting him, i know he remembers….if he say’s no…..he;s lying!!

    Bill: i’m done with this….

    Dixie: This probably is not the best place to discuss 40 year old grievances, is it? Maybe Bill should send Roger a private message.

    Bill: Dixie…piss off…. did you get punched?? i deleted alot of …hate…let’s not go there!! i will speak my mind where ever i want!!! it not your business!!

    Me: Agree Dixie I didn’t ‘feel’ the venom in these posts. I thought it was mostly banter. Guess I was wrong lol

     

    In a separate thread:

    Bill: i’m getting upset over …..past thing’s…….now.i had let these things go……only to get worked up about them again…..time to let go…….again……. please….stop talking about it….now…..it make’s me want to get even…which i will never do…….sorry for being rude……:(

    [Note, he is the one who started the conversation.]

    I’m still shaking my head over this.  Maybe I should start a ranting post about how pissed off I am at a guy named Tony who stole my purse when I was in the kindergarten!  LOL

Comments (13)

  • And THAT is precisely why I’ll be skipping my high school reunion this summer.  Not that my husband smacked my former peers around…but more along the lines that so many of them desperately NEEDED that smacking around and never got it. 

  • that is insane…

  • I can believe it. My brother is like that.

  • @ExLibris - He is not typical of reunion attendees, especially after 35-45 years.  Sounds like he is just someone who never grew up.  Every reunion I have ever been to has been tons of fun – and I wasn’t even very popular in school.  But people forget that after time, and are just happy to hang out with people they can relate to when reminiscing about their youth.  Try doing that at work!  lol

  • I would tell them that I’m not married. lol

  • Oh heck – it wasn’t the Tony who lived a couple blocks from St Mary’s, was it? Peace – Tony

  • @AOK4WAY - LOL No – but he did live a couple of blocks from a Presbytarian church

  • @SherylM - Oh good *gulp* lol

  • How absolutely bizarre. I think I lost track of who actually did it about halfway through, though it sounds like it wasn’t Roger. It’s unfortunate that some people never get past high school. Or maybe in this case, middle school.

  • Wow.  Crazy man.  What’s amusing is that a couple of times he says “the past is the past”  HA . yeah right.  Luckily I didn’t run into any of these types at my 20th reunion.   Bitter, party of one … bet he’s single, too

  • @AmyinVA - The conversation has since moved on but he’s still posting things like “okay, I get it.  Can we just move on?” and people are posting back to him to get over himself.  He probably is single, although he is very nice looking in his picture.  Probably an old picture LOL

  • Some folks never move past high school mentality.  And I just realized, I wrote 20th reunion.. I meant 30th reunion. HA- I forget how old I am sometimes

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *