February 7, 2013

  • Introduction to Guns and Self-Defense

    Tonight I got the ball rolling.  I have two other friends who are interested in learning and getting their CPL so I invited them over and we had dinner together, then talked to John about his experience and what to expect in his classes.  He brought a bunch of unloaded handguns with him and showed them to us, giving a brief history of them, and having us hold them.  He also talked about shooting at a range, competitions, leagues, etc.  That also interested me.  I am getting over my skittishness about guns and am ready to begin these classes.  We’re going to start in March.  There will be two ‘theory’ classes which will talk about gun safety, the law, home safety, etc.  Then there will be a range ‘class’ where we will actually have to shoot.  He gave us a starter packet to look over before we get started.  I already glanced through the book.  It was pretty interesting so far and all I did was read the captions under the photographs lol

    IN the packet was also a pamphlet titled “Gun Safety Rules”; a booklet “Concealed Carry Holster Guide: An introduction to concealed carry and the principles of pistol containment” and a booklet called “Winchester/NRA Marksmanship Qualification Program” for sport shooting – something I think I might like.

    I am hoping I NEVER have to use a gun to defend myself.  But I want to be prepared, competent and confident if the need ever arises.  I think going to a shooting range on a regular basis will help get me there.

    My first class is March 14.  I’ll update again after that class to give my impressions and what I took away from the class.  He is going to hold the classes at my house – he will be bringing a laptop and a projector, and I have the perfect place for this to all work.

    Our friends, Mike and Mary, are also going to take the classes here at the same time.

    When I first started thinking about this, my only thoughts on buying a gun were how it felt in my hand, but after seeing some of the guns John brought with him, I now see there are many other things to think about: safety features, range, ease of use, composition (steel vs. lighter weight metals), etc.  I am hoping by the end of it all, including the range time, I will be able to make an informed decision.

Comments (11)

  • I wish you luck.

  • Dave has many revolvers and pistols but just a few meet his criteria for concealed carry.  Number one is that it has a safety on it.  He was surprised that some of his favorites by weight and ease of shooting didn’t have a safety…marilyn

  • @maggie70 - That is amazing – I most definitely will end up with something with a lot of safety features (but hopefully not so many that it impedes my ability to defend myself if needed!)

  • I know how to use a gun.  And that is all good if I ever need to use it.  One thing you must remember that in order to protect yourself most likely you will have a dead body laying on the floor. I know that my life is more important than someone who is trying to kill me or harm me or steal from me.  I don’t know how my mind could understand that I killed someone.  Its so hard to explain.  If you have a gun you have to be prepared to kill someone.  

  • @Baroness_Fritinanci - Yeah, that was the first thing I was told the first time I went into a gun shop.  But seriously, if it came down to one of us is going to die, it ain’t gonna be me!  

  • @Baroness_Fritinanci - So true! As a police officer, my mom fatally shot a criminal. Completely justified. I was actually her second shooting. Even though the shooting was necessary she had a lot of mental trauma from the incident, it forced her to retire as a police officer.

    @SherylM - Good on ya! Just please make sure you’re completely prepared with knowing your weapon, knowing what your laws are for lethal self-defense, and being able to actually pull the trigger if you had to. I know too many people who struggle with #2 and #3. Good luck!

  • @SlickRick297 - Thanks! The person I am taking the classes from is a semi-retired police officer.  He will be talking about the laws regarding what is considered self-defense.  He’ll also talk about how to protect yourself BEFORE needing a gun  (safe room in house, etc.), how to store guns and ammo, how to clean them, etc.  There will also be range time.  My classes start in a couple of weeks and I’ve been reading a lot and mentally gearing myself up for this.  I understand having to actually shoot someone can have after-effects.  But when I consider the alternative, I kinda want to be alive to even HAVE those after-effects.

  • @SherylM - Someone doing it the RIGHT way for once! I know so many knuckleheads who would get themselves arrested if they ever encountered a situation. Others who would risk being killed by their own weapon. But you are right, survival is the most important consideration. Keep up the good work!

  • Plus in Flint of all places you probably should have one

  • @SlickRick297 - Yeah, it was ranked number one per capita for crime in the country this year – ahead of Detroit!  But I rarely go into Flint.  The closest I ever get to Flint is Genesee Valley mall.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *